In regards to the title of the blog…

September 11, 2006

There have been questions as to the reasons why I chose the title and what it means.  Well it is a part of the opening lines to James Joyce’s indecipherable Finnegan’s Wake.  For a better explanation of the title’s meaning you can check out the wikipedia entry on it:  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Finnegans_Wake.  I took it to mean that everything comes back around, meaning that there is a circular nature to all things.  Recent perspectives by physicists on the shape of the universe also come to the conclusion that like on Earth if you keep traveling in a straight line you’ll end up where you started.  I’m not trying to be philosophical or sentimental though, I picked the title mostly for the fact that it sounds intelligent.  Plus I like Joyce, though I don’t think I’ll ever read Finnegan’s Wake but if you’re able to then you’ll probably be first.

2 Responses to “In regards to the title of the blog…”

  1. ShivyD Says:

    Well thanks for explaining your title for me Finnegan! 🙂 My brother once tried to read Finnegan’s Wake and started spouting all these jibberish words, not sure he ever finished it though!
    Glad you are appreciating Western in all its oh-so-trendy glory! When I come visit this weekend maybe we can ask people on campus where they shop and pick ourselves up some cool beachwear.
    See you then 😉 Do it up!

  2. ucaire Says:

    Of course I don’t really endorse wikipedia as a reliable source on anything though.

Leave a Reply

